SIEPS carries out multidisciplinary research in European current affairs. As an independent government agency, we connect academic analysis and policy-making at Swedish and European levels.

Areas of activity and Organisation

Areas of activity

The Swedish Institute for European Policy Studies, SIEPS, conducts and promotes research and analysis of European policy affairs. SIEPS strives to act as a link between the academic world and policy-makers at various levels. By publishing reports and arranging seminars and conferences, SIEPS aims to further stimulate research on the future of Europe.

The research is conducted under the following three areas:

  • The EU's Political, Constitutional and Economic System

  • The Member States and European Integration

  • Policies of the European Union 

Mission and Annual Reports

SIEPS’ tasks are set out in the regulation which founded it (Förordningen (2008:748) med instruktion för Svenska institutet för europapolitiska studier) and in the annual letter of instruction from the government (regleringsbrev). SIEPS' activities are presented in its Annual Reports.


The Agency has 17 employees working on studies and analyses, administration and communications. Göran von Sydow is Director of the Agency.  Click here for information about the staff and how to contact us.

SIEPS is a so-called enrådighetsmyndighet. This means that the Director General is responsible for its work. The government has appointed an Advisory Council to exercise public control and advise the Director General. The Director is the President of the Council.

The Advisory Council is composed of the following members: 

  • Lisbeth Aggestam, Associate Professor, Gothenborg University

  • Anders Ahnlid, Director-General of the National Board of Trade Sweden

  • Helena Svaleryd, Professor in Economics, Uppsala University
  • Pyry Niemi, former Member of Parliament
  • Annika Ström Melin, Journalist

  • Thomas Persson, Associate Professor, Uppsala University

  • Jane Reichel, Professor, Stockholm University

  • Oscar Wåglund Söderström, Head of Liberal Group Secretariat and International Affairs